Skip to product information
1 of 1


Unlimited Edition [LP]

Unlimited Edition [LP]

UPC: 724596953815

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $39.95
Regular price Sale price $39.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Can: Damo Suzuki, Malcolm Mooney (vocals); Michael Karoli (guitar, shenai); Jaki Liebezeit (winds, drums, percussion); Irmin Schmidt (keyboards, synthesizer); Holger Czukay (bass).
Recorded at Can Studio, Weilerswist, Germany between September 1968 and July 1975.
Released in 1976 as a double-album expansion of 1974's LIMITED EDITION, UNLIMITED EDITION collects previously unreleased recordings made by Can between 1968 and 1974. Because the group owned their own rehearsal space/studio, Inner Space, they could record pretty much at whim, not only when release schedules dictated. While in some hands, this lack of structure would be an open invitation for endless, boring jams, the members of Can are far too self-disciplined for that.
While a distinct looseness permeates these songs, none of them are unstructured or repetitive enough to truly be called jams. Instead, they're explorations, like the improvisations of a talented, intuitive jazz combo. While many of the 19 tracks--including several entries in their ongoing Ethnological Forgeries series--are instrumentals, former singers Malcolm Mooney and Damo Suzuki are both represented here.


Disc 1:
1 - Gomorrha
2 - Doko E
3 - LH 7o2 (Nairobi/München)
4 - I'm Too Leise
5 - Musette
6 - Blue Bag (Inside Paper)
7 - E.F.S. No. 27
8 - TV Spot
9 - E.F.S. No. 7
10 - Empress and the Ukraine King
11 - E.F.S. No. 10
12 - Mother Upduff
13 - E.F.S. No. 36
Disc 2:
1 - Cutaway
2 - Connection
3 - Fall of Another Year
4 - E.F.S. No. 8
5 - Transcendental Express
6 - Ibis