Skip to product information
1 of 1

Transvision Vamp

Pop Art

Pop Art

UPC: 5014797898295

Format: LP

Regular price $20.95
Regular price Sale price $20.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Transvision Vamp: Wendy James (vocals); Nick Sayer (guitar); Tex Axile (keyboards); Dave Parsons (bass); Pol Burton (drums).
Additional personnel: Adam Peters (acoustic & electric cellos); Phil Smith (saxophone); D. Manic B'Man (keyboards, programming), Matthew Seligman (bass); Nick Marsh, China Blue, Carol, Karen (background vocals).
Punk-chewed bubblegum rock, fronted by sex kitten Wendy James, proved a winning formula on Transvision Vamp's debut release, Pop Art. Despite proclaiming "The rules are...there are no rules" in the liner notes, the set follows the time-honored rock/punk formula of guitars, attitude, and a healthy shot of sex appeal: Nick Christian Sayer's guitar work providing the perfect complement to James' anthemic lyrics. At their best with exuberant outings such as "I Want Your Love" and "Revolution Baby," a nice melodic lull to the rollicking fun is provided by the well-honed ballad "Sister Moon." The second half of the album, however, begins to wear a little thin, avoiding the beautiful simplicity of earlier songs with some experimental punk rock ("Sex Kick") and ballads neither catchy nor deep ("Andy Warhol's Dead" and "Hanging Out With Halo Jones"). The light-hearted sounds and catchy hooks were further developed in their follow-up, Velveteen, but straying from the formula with Little Magnets Vs. the Bubble of Babble in 1991 ended public interest as well as the band. ~ Brendan Swift


1 - Trash City
2 - Want Your Love
3 - Sister Moon
4 - Psychosonic Cindy
5 - Revolution Baby
6 - Tell That Girl to Shut Up
7 - Wild Star
8 - Hanging Out With Halo Jones
9 - Andy Warhol’s Dead
10 - Sex Kick