Skip to product information
1 of 1

Green Day



UPC: 093624912231

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Green Day: Billie Joe (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Mike Dirnt (vocals, bass); Tre Cool (drums, bongos, tambourine).
Additional personnel: Petra Haden (violin); Gabriel McNair, Stephen Bradley (horns).
All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
Green Day's infectious brand of thrashy power-pop is full of references to the generation of punk which preceded them, with adenoidal vocals spinning tales of youthful angst against a backdrop of hard, fast riffs. The difference, of course, is that Green Day is having more fun than the Buzzcocks would ever have admitted to. NIMROD catches the band updating their sound while holding onto the speed and recklessness that made their previous albums so exciting.
Touches like the atmospheric, flanged guitars of "Redundant" and the violin on "Hitchin' A Ride" and "Last Ride In," (courtesy of That Dog's Petra Haden) help to take the band in a new, more serious direction. Lest anyone fear that this expansion signals self-indulgence, the tight harmonies of "Scattered" and breakneck pace of "Platypus (I Hate You)" prove that, unlike most angry young men (especially those that happen to be millionaire celebrities), they've managed to hold on to every bit of the energy and rage that propelled them in the first place.


Disc 1:
1 - Nice Guys Finish Last
2 - Hitchin' a Ride
3 - Grouch
4 - Redundant
5 - Scattered
6 - All the Time
7 - Worry Rock
8 - Platypus (I Hate You)
9 - Uptight
10 - Last Ride In
11 - Jinx
12 - Haushinka
Disc 2:
1 - Walking Alone
2 - Reject
3 - Take Back
4 - King for a Day
5 - Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)
6 - Prosthetic Head