Skip to product information
1 of 1

Neil Young

Neil Young

Neil Young

UPC: 093624978688

Format: LP

Regular price $37.95
Regular price Sale price $37.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel includes: Neil Young (vocals, guitar); Jim Messina (bass); George Grantham (drums); Merry Clayton, Brenda Holloway, Patrice Holloway, Gloria Richetta Jones, Sherlie Matthews, Gracia Nitzsche (background vocals).
Producers: Dave Briggs, Neil Young, Jack Nitzsche, Ryland Cooder.
Engineers include: Mark Richardson, Donn Landee, Dale Batchelor.
Neil Young's first solo record is quite a bit different from the sound he would later develop--not that anyone could ever know what to expect from this mercurial visionary. This album, though, is a bit artier and less spontaneous-sounding than most of Young's catalog. That's not to say that he hadn't already developed a gift for writing unique, captivating material. He'd already shown that ability with Buffalo Springfield, and NEIL YOUNG is full of great, idiosyncratic tunes.
The most well-known cut here is the most traditional rock-sounding tune, "The Loner," but even here Young sings of disaffection and isolation, over an arrangement that shifts between distorted guitar and elegant string section. "The Old Laughing Lady" is probably the most Springfieldish song here, and along with the country flavor of some of the other tunes, provides a link to Young's past. The piece de resistance is the closing acoustic epic, "The Last Trip To Tulsa," a surreal, Dylanesque number that showed Young already blazing his own trail in the world of rock poets.


1 - Emperor of Wyoming
2 - Loner
3 - If I Could Have Her Tonight
4 - I've Been Waiting For You
5 - Old Laughing Lady
6 - String Quartet From Whiskey Boot Hill
7 - Here We Are In the Years
8 - What Did You Do To My Life?
9 - I've Loved Her So Long
10 - Last Trip To Tulsa