Skip to product information
1 of 1

Ted Hawkins

Watch Your Step

Watch Your Step

UPC: 888072053434

Format: LP

Regular price $26.95
Regular price Sale price $26.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Ted Hawkins (vocals, guitar); Phillip Walker (guitar, background vocals); David Li (saxophone); Mel Moore (trumpet); Arthur Woods (piano); Dennis Walker (bass); Johnny Tucker (drums).
Recorded at El Dorado Studio, Los Angeles, California.
Though recorded in 1971, when Ted Hawkins was 35 years old, this debut album languished for another 11 years before finally being released in 1982. Quite deservedly WATCH YOUR STEP appeared on many of the year's best-of lists. Drawing from a tradition of soulful shouters, Hawkins finds a dynamic voice of his own. He weds his singing to a simple but powerfully strummed lone acoustic guitar, making his music even more compelling.
WATCH YOUR STEP's 15 Hawkins originals are honest, direct, and at once personal and universal. Bruised but full of hope, this musician clearly sings from his heart. A full band joins Hawkins on four of the tracks. While they add some variety to the proceedings, Hawkins is even more powerful on his own. This is an essential album for anyone who's ever heard Ted Hawkins-and a perfect introduction for anyone who hasn't.


1 - Watch Your Step
2 - Bring It Home Daddy
3 - If You Love Me
4 - Don't Lose Your Cool
5 - Lost Ones
6 - Who Got My Natural Comb?
7 - Peace & Happiness
8 - Sweet Baby
9 - Stop Your Crying
10 - Put in a Cross
11 - Sorry You're Sick
12 - Watch Your Step
13 - TWA
14 - I Gave Up All I Had
15 - Stay Close to Me