Skip to product information
1 of 1

Cocteau Twins



UPC: 191400019317

Format: LP

Regular price $28.95
Regular price Sale price $28.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Cocteau Twins: Elizabeth Fraser (vocals); Robin Guthrie (guitar); Simon Raymonde (bass).
Additional personnel: Richard Thomas (saxophone, tablas).
In the two years following TREASURE, the Cocteau Twins released three EPs: AIKEA-GUINEA, TINY DYNAMINE, and ECHOES IN A SHALLOW BAY. Each of these records saw the band moving progressively further away from the heavier sound of previous releases. VICTORIALAND (1986) was the apex of this trend and easily their most ethereal, airy album. Interested listeners should also check out the band's 1986 THE MOON AND THE MELODIES, recorded with ambient musician Harold Budd.
VICTORIALAND features very little in the way of percussion on most tracks, instead concentrating on the interplay between Elizabeth Fraser's vocals and Robin Guthrie's elaborate, but unassuming, guitar effects. This is most successful on "Oomingmak," where the ambient sounds backing the two smoothly ebb and flow, augmented by Simon Raymonde's intermittent bass notes. Other standouts include "Feet-like Fins," which whirls around Guthrie's gorgeously echoing guitar before adding bass and bongos in a swirling climax, and "The Thinner the Air," a haunting track that suggests a more archaic Dead Can Dance. VICTORIALAND and its predecessor, TREASURE, are consistently cited as the band's best records by their fans.


1 - Lazy Calm
2 - Fluffy Tufts
3 - Throughout the Dark Months of April and May
4 - Whales Tails
5 - Oomingmak
6 - Little Spacey
7 - Feet-Like Fins
8 - How to Bring a Blush to the Snow
9 - Thinner the Air