Skip to product information
1 of 1

Fountains of Wayne

Utopia Parkway

Utopia Parkway

UPC: 634457226210

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
Fountains Of Wayne: Adam Schlesinger (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass); Chris Collingwood (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Jody Porter (vocals, guitar); Brian Young (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Garo Yellin, Conway Kuo (strings); Kris Woolsey (handclaps); Ron Sexsmith (background vocals).
Producers: Adam Schlesinger, Chris Collingwood.
Engineers: Gary Maurer, John Siket, Adam Schlesinger.
Recorded at Stratosphere Sound, The Big House and Room With A Jew, New York, New York; Destructopuss, Northampton, Massacheusetts.
Fountains of Wayne turn self-conscious alt-rock geekdom into an unassailable art form on their second album UTOPIA PARKWAY. They combine classic power-pop song structure with a knack for the killer hook and an endless supply of self-referential lyrics detailing the lives of East Coast hipsters growing up in the postmodern age. Perfect pop harmonies, ringing guitars and the occasional synth sweep (for retro new wave credibility) match lyrics about "playing in a cover band" and taking "the N train down to Coney Island."
It quickly becomes plain that the outsider edge of the songs comes from the fact that the songs' characters are kids from the 'burbs who enter the city in search of deliverance, or at least relief from boredom. This scenario's apex is reached on "Laser Show," about driving into New York City's Hayden Planetarium to see Pink Floyd and Metallica laser shows. God bless those who write about what they know.


1 - Utopia Parkway
2 - Red Dragon Tattoo
3 - Denise
4 - Hat And Feet
5 - Valley Of Malls
6 - Troubled Times
7 - Go, Hippie
8 - Fine Day For A Parade
9 - Amity Gardens
10 - Laser Show
11 - Lost In Space
12 - Prom Theme
13 - It Must Be Summer
14 - Senator's Daughter