Skip to product information
1 of 3

The Flaming Lips

Transmissions from the Satellite Heart

Transmissions from the Satellite Heart

UPC: 093624952206

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Flaming Lips: Wayne Coyne (vocals, guitar); Steven Drozd, Michael Ivins, Ronald Jones.
Recorded at Studio Seven, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma from January to February 1993.
TRANSMISSIONS FROM THE SATELLITE HEART is a perfect example of post-modern ear-candy: sour, rough and skewed on the outside, lusciously sweet and logically structure-less on the inside. It is a Beatles record with Eno at the controls. While the guitar tones are more akin to laser beams than to standard Gibsons, and the effects-laden vocals casually melt into any form of incidental noise (keyboards, feedback, whatever), songs like "Turn It On" and "She Don't Use Jelly" are nothing more than pure pop songs for now (1990s) people. And just as the best of the psychedelic/sonic pioneers--the Lips' obvious fore-fathers--realized that to creatively buck the system they must first embrace its established traditions, Wayne Coyne and company balance extended jams like "Moth In The Incubator" and "Slow Nerve Action" with the simple acoustic folk of "*******." Such moments lift TRANSMISSIONS FROM THE SATELLITE HEART from being just a good record to being masterpiece.


1 - Turn It On
2 - Pilot Can At the Queer of God
3 - Oh My Pregnant Head
4 - She Don't Use Jelly
5 - Chewin the Apple of Your Eye
6 - Superhumans
7 - Be My Head
8 - Moth In the Incubator
9 - ******* (Plastic Jesus)
10 - When Yer Twenty Two
11 - Slow Nerve Action