Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Cure



UPC: 602547875549

Format: LP

Regular price $32.95
Regular price Sale price $32.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 2 business days after order placement.

View full details
Producers: Robert Smith, Chris Parry, Dave Allen.
The virtual definition of a "transitional album," the Cure's 1984 outing, THE TOP, was created during a turbulent time in the band's history, during which the group nearly disintegrated, and Smith was occupying himself by filling in as guitarist for Siouxsie & the Banshees (see their album HYAENA). THE TOP exemplifies Smith's restlessness, as fierce rock ("Shake Dog Shake," "Give Me It") mixes with PORNOGRAPHY-like gloom ("Wailing Wall") and quirky pop ("Birdmad Girl," "The Caterpillar"), the latter of which the Cure would explore further on THE HEAD ON THE DOOR and KISS ME, KISS ME, KISS ME. Although this isn't one of the group's most consistent albums, it's invaluable as a portrait of a band on the brink, and essential for hardcore Cure fans.


1 - Shake Dog Shake
2 - Birdmad Girl
3 - Wailing Wall
4 - Give Me It
5 - Dressing Up
6 - Caterpillar
7 - Piggy in the Mirror
8 - Empty World
9 - Bananafishbones
10 - Top