Skip to product information
1 of 1

Billy Joel

The Stranger

The Stranger

UPC: 886973185810

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $29.95
Regular price Sale price $29.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Billy Joel (vocals, harmonica, piano, organ, keyboards); Hiram Bullock, Steve Burgh, Steve Khan, Hugh McCracken, David Brown (guitar); Richie Cannatta (fiddle, flute, soprano & tenor saxophones, organ, keyboards); Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Richard Tee (organ); Doug Stegmeyer (bass); Liberty DeVito (drums, percussion); Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Phoebe Snow, Lani Groves, Patti Austin (background vocals).
Recorded at A&R Recording, New York, New York.
He's known to many as an inoffensive pop balladeer, but at the arguable peak of his career in the late '70s, Billy Joel released his darkest, most emotionally charged album. THE STRANGER abandons the grandstanding and broad melodic sweep of Joel's earlier records for a more intimate, introspective sound, effectively communicating Joel's ruminations on the perils of life and love. "Movin' Out" is something of an existentialist anthem, chronicling the way people's dreams are often irreparably crushed. The ominous-sounding title tune examines the many guises with which lovers disguise themselves in their attempts to entrap and deceive each other. "Only the Good Die Young" is hedonism at it's most iconoclastic. Even "She's Always a Woman," ostensibly a romantic piano ballad, is full of thorny, less-than-complimentary observations about its subject. Joel's emotional honesty would never be this clear-eyed and unabashed again.


Disc 1:
1 - Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
2 - Stranger
3 - Just the Way You Are
4 - Scenes From an Italian Restaurant
5 - Vienna
6 - Only the Good Die Young
7 - She's Always a Woman
8 - Get It Right the First Time
9 - Everybody Has a Dream
Disc 2:
1 - Miami 2017 (I've Seen the Lights Go Out On Broadway
2 - Prelude/Angry Young Man
3 - New York State of Mind
4 - Just the Way You Are
5 - She's Got a Way
6 - Entertainer
7 - Scenes From an Italian Restaurant
8 - Band Introductions
9 - Captain Jack
10 - I've Loved These Days
11 - Say Goodbye To Hollywood
12 - Souvenir