Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tom Waits

Early Years, Vol. 1

Early Years, Vol. 1

UPC: 767004060118

Format: LP

Regular price $27.95
Regular price Sale price $27.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Recorded in Los Angeles, California between July & December 1971.
While it's a fascinating, ultimately satisfying listen, THE EARLY YEARS provides reassuring proof that Waits didn't start out as a genius. These 1971 demos of a 21-year-old Waits show a huge talent still in an embryonic state. All the elements of his artistry were solidly in place; the blues, jazz and beat poetry influences, the Hoagy Carmichael/Irving Berlin compositional sensibility, but they were only just beginning to gel. A couple of these tunes would turn up in revamped versions on Waits' 1973 debut, but most are transitional pieces that never would have seen the light of day, had Bizarre/Straight not delved into its archives. Waits neophytes should probably start with the official releases, but hardcore fans will be fascinating by this opportunity to see a world-class artist in a developmental stage.


1 - Goin' Down Slow
2 - Poncho's Lament
3 - I'm Your Late Night Evening Prostitute
4 - Had Me a Girl
5 - Ice Cream Man
6 - Rockin' Chair
7 - Virginia Ave.
8 - Midnight Lullabye
9 - When You Ain't Got Nobody
10 - Little Trip to Heaven
11 - Frank's Song
12 - Looks Like I'm Up Shit Creek Again
13 - So Long I'll See Ya