Skip to product information
1 of 1


Standing on the Verge of Getting It On [20 Tracks]

Standing on the Verge of Getting It On [20 Tracks]

UPC: 029667715119

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $33.95
Regular price Sale price $33.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Funkadelic's 1974 release STANDING ON THE VERGE OF GETTING IT ON proved to be a continuation of the more consolidated direction laid down on its predecessor, COSMIC SLOP. But STANDING is the better and stronger album, and easily Funkadelic's most consistent work since the classic MAGGOT BRAIN. Even though the band's members were, at the time, doing double duty in the more commercially oriented Parliament, Funkadelic maintained its complete allegiance here to wildly experimental, rock-influenced music.
The album begins with a lighthearted poem read by two band members, their voices sped up to sound like The Chipmunks. This leads directly into the vicious funk-rock of "Red Hot Mama" and the absolutely raging rocker, "Alice In My Fantasies." The mood calms down briefly for the soulful "I'll Stay" and the playful pop of "Sexy Ways." There are jazzy moments ("Jimmy's Got A Little Bit Of Bitch In Him"), and meditative instrumentals ("Good Thoughts, Bad Thoughts"), but the topper is the title track, a manically exuberant jam that still ranks among P-funk's greatest moments.


Disc 1:
1 - Cosmic Slop
2 - Standing on the Verge of Getting It on
3 - You Can't Miss What You Can't Measure
4 - One Nation Under a Groove
5 - Better by the Pound
6 - Sexy Ways
7 - Loose Booty
8 - (Not Just) Knee Deep
9 - Joyful Process
10 - Whatever Makes My Baby Feel Good
11 - Can You Get to That
Disc 2:
1 - Maggot Brain
2 - I Wanna Know Is It Good for You
3 - I'll Bet You
4 - Hit It and Quit It
5 - Red Hot Mama
6 - I Got a Thing You Got a Thing Everybody Got a Thing
7 - Comin' Round the Mountain
8 - Let's Take It to the Stage
9 - Undisco Kidd