Skip to product information
1 of 1


Songs in A&E

Songs in A&E

UPC: 5414939928840

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $36.95
Regular price Sale price $36.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 5 business days after order placement.

View full details
The sixth studio album from Spiritualized continues to refine the outfit's structurally simple yet highly textured space rock. On SONGS IN A & E listeners can still hear the influence of the minimal, noisy art-rock of the Velvet Underground and the guitar-rich sonic-scapes of My Bloody Valentine, but there's also a directness here that might surprise the listener.
In songs like "Soul on Fire" and "Sweet Talk," lead singer-songwriter Jason Pierce achieves an honest simplicity that is powerful and poignant, qualities underscored by the album's arrangements, which feature gospel singers, a string section, Fender Rhodes, and acoustic guitar. To be sure, there's a fair bit of the heady ambient wash associated with this band, but the sound isn't generated by layers of feedback or effects but by Pierce's soaring melodies and the unique instrumentation.


Disc 1:
1 - Harmony 1 (Mellotron)
2 - Sweet Talk
3 - Death Take Your Fiddle
4 - I Gotta Fire
5 - Soul On Fire
6 - Harmony 2 (Piano)
7 - Sitting On Fire
8 - Yeah Yeah
9 - You Lie You Cheat
Disc 2:
1 - Harmony 3 (Voice)
2 - Baby I'm Just a Fool
3 - Don't Hold Me Close
4 - Harmony 4 (The Old Man ...)
5 - Waves Crash In
6 - Harmony 5 (Accordion)
7 - Borrowed Your Gun
8 - Harmony 6 (Glockenspiel)
9 - Good Night Goodnight