Skip to product information
1 of 1

Don Ellis



UPC: 4029759119760

Format: LP

Regular price $22.95
Regular price Sale price $22.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 4 and 5 business days after order placement.

View full details
The last album by Don Ellis' big band before the trumpeter suffered a heart attack that would ultimately cut short both his career and his life, this underrated set finds Ellis' orchestra consisting of seven brass (including tuba), four strong woodwind players, a string quartet, and an enlarged six-piece rhythm section that includes guitarist Jay Graydon and keyboardist Milcho Leviev. A special highlight is "Invincible" which is an outstanding feature for altoist Vince Denham; whatever happened to him? Ellis composed four of the eight originals including one titled "The Devil Made Me Write This Piece!" This out-of-print Lp is well worth searching for. ~ Scott Yanow


1 - Whiplash
2 - Sladka Pitka
3 - Devil Made Me Write This Piece
4 - Go Back Home
5 - Invincible
6 - Image of Maria
7 - Sidonie
8 - Nicole