Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Jayhawks (Rock)



UPC: 602537909551

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $47.95
Regular price Sale price $47.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
The Jayhawks includes: Gary Louris (vocals, guitar, synthesizer, melodica); Tim O'Reagan (vocals, guitar, drums, percussion); Marc Perlman (guitar, mandolin, synthesizer, bass, percussion); Kraig Johnson (guitar, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Eric Heywood (pedal steel guitar, dobro); Bob Ezrin (accordion, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Karen Grotberg (keyboards, background vocals); Patrick Seymour (synthesizer); Joseph Bishara (programming); The Armadillo String Quartet.
Recorded at Flower Studios, Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Following founding member Mark Olson's departure, The Jayhawks, using drum machines and loops, continued to distance themselves from the y'alternative universe they helped create. On their sixth record, SMILE, these Minneapolis natives follow the creative vision of Gary Louris, who wrote or co-wrote every song.
Of course, the band don't make a complete break with their rootsy past, as shown by "What Led Me to This Town," and "Better Days," songs with enough twang to satisfy long-time fans. With tracks like "Pretty Thing," they do a fine job maintaining the grainier guitar style of their previous album, SOUND OF LIES. The most radical departure for the band comes here via a songwriting collaboration with famed rock producer Bob Ezrin (Kiss/Pink Floyd) who also oversaw the creation of SMILE.


Disc 1:
1 - Smile
2 - I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
3 - What Led Me to This Town
4 - Somewhere in Ohio
5 - Break in the Clouds
6 - Queen of the World
7 - Life Floats By
8 - Broken Harpoon
9 - Pretty Thing
Disc 2:
1 - Mr. Wilson
2 - (In My) Wildest Dreams
3 - Better Days
4 - Baby, Baby, Baby
5 - Who Made You King
6 - Gypsy in the Mood
7 - Part of You
8 - Life's Little Ups and Downs
9 - Greta Garbo
10 - Five Cornered Blues