Skip to product information
1 of 1

Thee Headcoatees

Sisters of Suave

Sisters of Suave

UPC: 615187316112

Format: LP

Regular price $25.95
Regular price Sale price $25.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Thee Headcoatees includes: Ludella Black, Bongo Debbie, Holly Golighty, and Kyra LaRubia.
Sisters of Suave is a handy collection of the singles released by Thee Headcoatees from 1992-1998 (on such labels as Vinyl Japan, Sympathy for the Record Industry, Munster, Twist, and Damaged Goods). Of the 16 tracks, five are covers and the rest were written by mentor/Svengali Billy Childish (Thee Headcoats), who also brought the guitar noise. Standouts include an alternative version of the delightfully deviant "Ballad of the Insolent Pup" and the exuberant "Davey Crockett," which combines Wayne Fontana & the Mindbenders' "Game of Love" with the Ramones' "Pinhead" ("gabba gabba hey!"). In the spoken word intro to "Santa Claus," Childish (as Claus) acknowledges that it sounds a lot like "Davey Crockett" -- even if it's actually a Sonics cover. Meanwhile, "Swallow My Pride" is a rendition of the Ramones' song and not Green River's. (Although, as a solo artist, Holly Golightly would go on to cover Mudhoney's "Good Enough.") "Swallow My Pride" is, appropriately enough, followed by "Come Into My Mouth," the title of which is meant to be taken literally and is easily the weakest (and crudest) selection on this otherwise fun -- sometimes silly -- romp through the career of the U.K.'s premier girl garage group of the 1990s. ~ Kathleen C. Fennessy


1 - Davey Crockett
2 - Ca Plaine Pour Moi
3 - Santa Claus
4 - I Gotta Move
5 - Ballad of the Insolent Pup
6 - Johnny Jack
7 - Swallow My Pride
8 - Spineless Little Shit
9 - Headcoat Girl
10 - My Boyfriend's Learning Karate
11 - I'm Happy
12 - Evil Thing
13 - Strychnine
14 - Come Into My Mouth
15 - Young Blood
16 - Jackie Chan Does Kung Fu