Skip to product information
1 of 1

Reba McEntire

Rumor Has It

Rumor Has It

UPC: 602507214197

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Reba McEntire (vocals); Steve Gibson (guitar, mandolin); Dann Huff (electric guitar); Steve Fishell (steel guitar); Jon Jarvis, Matt Rollings (keyboards); Kirk Cappello (synthesizer); Michael Rhodes (bass); Edgar Meyer (arco bass); Larrie Londin (drums).
Despite the oddly Greta Garbo-like look Reba McEntire affects on the album cover, RUMOR HAS IT is a straightforward early '90s mainstream country album. In addition to a few co-written tunes, including the soaring opener and first single "Climb That Mountain High," and a handful of tunes from the Music Row songwriting factory, RUMOR HAS IT allows McEntire to cover a few obscure old favorites. Jesse Winchester's folky singer-songwriter gem "You Remember Me" is given a heartfelt reading, but the album's highlight is an absolutely fabulous reading of Bobbie Gentry's "Fancy"--a story song about a woman looking back on her dirt-poor upbringing and subsequent life as a high-class prostitute. The key to "Fancy" is that the narrator is proud of how her life has turned out, and McEntire sings the somewhat over-the-top lyrics with a mix of sly humor and flinty resolve that fits perfectly with the character. It's one of McEntire's most entertaining covers, and a highlight on a somewhat overlooked album.


1 - Climb That Mountain High
2 - Rumor Has It
3 - Waitin' for the Deal to Go Down
4 - You Lie
5 - Now You Tell Me
6 - Fancy
7 - Fallin' Out of Love
8 - This Picture
9 - You Remember Me
10 - That's All She Wrote
11 - Fancy