Skip to product information
1 of 1

Iggy & the Stooges/The Stooges

Raw Power [LP]

Raw Power [LP]

UPC: 886919593518

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $35.95
Regular price Sale price $35.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Though the Stooges were on the verge of breaking up at the time RAW POWER was recorded, it still comes across as (arguably) their most focused and powerful release. Former guitarist Ron Ashton was moved to bass and replaced by James Williamson, whose precise, razory playing makes RAW POWER the Stooges' most guitar-driven album. Scott Ashton drums up a storm, and Iggy yowls, yelps, drawls, and croons with a sense of menace that is both exhilarating and frightening. Though the album retains the reckless urgency and noise-happy chaos that defined FUN HOUSE, it strips away the swampy murk of that album with its trebly, metallic production.
The songs work sexy, primal grooves ("I Need Somebody"), hopped-up boogie ("Shake Appeal"), reworked, adrenaline-pumped early rock & roll (the title track), and creeping, whisper-fueled come-ons ("Penetration"). The album's two best tracks, the spastic, take-no-prisoners danger anthem "Search and Destroy, " and the minor key, Doors-influenced "Gimme Danger" bristle with energy and the kind of sleazy, libidinous glamour that keep the true heart of rock thudding furiously. Aptly named, RAW POWER was the Stooges' third and final album, putting the cap on their small but hugely influential discography. A rock essential.


Disc 1:
1 - Search and Destroy [Bowie Mix]
2 - Gimme Danger [Bowie Mix]
3 - Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell [Bowie Mix]
4 - Penetration
5 - Raw Power
6 - I Need Somebody
7 - Shake Appeal
8 - Death Trip
Disc 2:
1 - Search and Destroy [Iggy Pop Mix]
2 - Gimme Danger [Iggy Pop Mix]
3 - Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell [Originally Titled "Hard to Beat"] [Iggy Pop Mix]
4 - Penetration [Iggy Pop Mix]
5 - Raw Power [Iggy Pop Mix]
6 - I Need Somebody [Iggy Pop Mix]
7 - Shake Appeal [Iggy Pop Mix]
8 - Death Trip [Iggy Pop Mix]