Skip to product information
1 of 1

Nirvana (US)

MTV Unplugged in New York

MTV Unplugged in New York

UPC: 720642472712

Format: LP

Regular price $32.95
Regular price Sale price $32.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 2 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Nirvana: Kurt Cobain (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dave Grohl (vocals, bass, drums); Krist Novoselic (guitar, accordion, bass).
Additional personnel: Cris Kirkwood (acoustic guitar, bass); Pat Smear, Curt Kirkwood (acoustic guitar); Lori Goldston (cello).
Recorded live at Sony Music Studios, New York, New York on November 18, 1993.
UNPLUGGED IN NEW YORK is part of MTV's "Unplugged" series.
UNPLUGGED IN NEW YORK won a 1996 Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Performance.
Sadly, MTV Unplugged stands as Nirvana's last album. While it's an album of covers and old songs, it ranks as one of the band's most cohesive records. Instead of relying on the trio's overpowering sonic force, Unplugged concentrates on Kurt Cobain's subtly shaded songwriting and Nirvana's deceptively simple musical power. Every version of their previously recorded songs, with the possible exception of "On a Plain," dramatically improves the original, and the covers reveal more about Cobain than he intended. By the time Nirvana close with a wrenching, spine-chilling version of Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night," the emotional complexity of Nirvana's music is clear. It's also clear that they could have made even greater music. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - About a Girl
2 - Come as You Are
3 - Jesus Don't Want Me for a Sunbeam
4 - Man Who Sold the World
5 - Pennyroyal Tea
6 - Dumb
7 - Polly
8 - On a Plain
9 - Something the Way
10 - Plateau
11 - Oh, Me
12 - Lake of Fire
13 - All Apologies
14 - Where Did You Sleep Last Night (In the Pines)