Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Breeders

Mountain Battles

Mountain Battles

UPC: 652637280319

Format: LP

Regular price $32.95
Regular price Sale price $32.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
Nearly six years after 2002's TITLE TK, much of which was spent touring with the studio-shy Pixies, Kim Deal reconvened the Breeders for the on-again/off-again alt-rock act's fourth full-length album, MOUNTAIN BATTLES. Consisting largely of the same line-up as its predecessor--including Kim's sister, Kelley--the record is another willfully quirky outing, with Deal recalling early Jane's Addiction-era Perry Farrell in the echoing vocals of "Overglazed," then later breathily cooing over the woozy arrangements of "We're Gonna Rise" and "Spark." A return to the venerable 4AD label, MOUNTAIN BATTLES nods to all past Breeders outings, particularly the eclectic LAST SPLASH, presenting the sound of a restless band cruising on its sonic whims. Though this approach occasionally backfires (see the inessential Spanish-language tune "Regalame Esta Noche"), it often yields fascinatingly weird pop moments, as on the seemingly nonsensical, partially a cappella "German Studies," making it an immensely fun listen.


1 - Overglazed
2 - Bang On
3 - Night of Joy
4 - We're Gonna Rise
5 - German Studies
6 - Spark
7 - Istanbul
8 - Walk It Off
9 - Regalame Esta Noche
10 - Here No More
11 - No Way
12 - It's the Love
13 - Mountain Battles