Skip to product information
1 of 1

James Cotton

Mighty Long Time

Mighty Long Time

UPC: 607396350117

Format: LP

Regular price $41.95
Regular price Sale price $41.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 6 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: James Cotton (vocals, harmonica); Jimmie Vaughan, Derek O'Brien, Matt Murphy, Luther Tucker, Hubert Sumlin, Wayne Bennett (guitar); Red Rails, Mark Kazanoff (tenor saxophone); Choo Bari (baritone saxophone); Mike Kindred, Denny Freeman, Pinetop Perkins, Mel Brown, Reese Wynans (piano); Sarah Brown, Calvin Jones, Larry Eisenberg (bass); George Rains, Willie Smith (drums).
Engineers: Stuart Sullivan, James Tuttle, Joe Gracy.
Recorded at Arlyn Studio, Studio D & Lonestar Studio, Austin, Texas. Includes liner notes by Clifford Antone.
This is a sort of back-to-the-roots release from the veteran blues harp wizard. Two of the songs, "Hold Me in Your Arms," which has a "Mystery Train" feel, and "Straighten Up Baby," one of several cuts here featuring guitarist Jimmy Vaughan, were originally recorded by James Cotton in the early '50s at Sun Records.
There are also two drummerless numbers featuring legendary Howlin' Wolf guitarist Hubert Sumlin; the reading here of Sunny Boy Williamson's "Moanin' at Midnight" is particularly spooky and atmospheric. Other highlights include a nicely minimalist version of Bobby Bland's "Call it Stormy Monday," and the Little Walter-ish instrumental "Northside Cadillac," where Cotton trades jazzy licks with Matt "Guitar" Murphy.


1 - Straighten Up Baby
2 - Everything Gonna Be Alright
3 - Black Nights
4 - Blow Wind Blow
5 - Sugar Sweet
6 - Moanin’ at Midnight
7 - Baby Please
8 - Hold Me in Your Arms
9 - Stormy Monday
10 - Three Hundred Pounds of Joy
11 - Northside Cadillac
12 - Mighty Long Time
13 - Every Night and Every Day
14 - Cotton Crop Blues
15 - Got My Nose Open
16 - Too Many Drivers