Skip to product information
1 of 1

Aretha Franklin

Lady Soul

Lady Soul

UPC: 081227971632

Format: LP

Regular price $27.95
Regular price Sale price $27.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, piano); Ralph Burns (conductor); Jimmy Johnson (guitar); Frank Wess (flute, tenor saxophone); Seldon Powell (tenor saxophone); Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Mel Lastie, Joe Newman, Bernie Glow (trumpet); Tony Studd (bass trombone); Spooner Oldham (piano, electric piano, organ); Warren Smith (vibraphone); Tommy Cogbill (bass); Roger Hawkins, Gene Chrisman (drums); Cissy Houston, Carolyn Franklin, Erma Franklin, Ellie Greenwich (background vocals).
Recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios, New York between February 16 and December 20, 1967.
Includes liner notes by David Nathan and original release liner notes by Jon Landau.
Aretha's Franklin's position as soul music's premier female vocalist was consolidated by this album. Her strident reading of Don Covay's 'Chain Of Fools' set the tone for a collection on which the singer unveiled several stellar original compositions and reinterpreted a batch of classic songs. Franklin's gospel roots were clearly displayed on the anthem-like 'People Get Ready' while her interpretation of 'Natural Woman' showed both vulnerable and assertive qualities. Lady Soul captures a performer at the peak of her power, restating her ability to take material and make it uniquely her own.


1 - Chain of Fools
2 - Money Won't Change You
3 - People Get Ready
4 - Niki Hoeky
5 - (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
6 - Since You've Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)
7 - Good to Me as I Am to You
8 - Come Back Baby
9 - Groovin'
10 - Ain't No Way