Skip to product information
1 of 1




UPC: 643859746011

Format: LP

Regular price $28.95
Regular price Sale price $28.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 5 business days after order placement.

View full details
JAWBOX contains a hidden track, "Cornflake Girl."
Jawbox: J. Robbins (vocals, guitar, Hammond organ, percussion); W.C. Barbot (guitar, vocals, saxophone, Hammond organ); Kim Coletta (bass, vocals); Zachary Barocas (drums).
Recorded at Water Music, Hoboken, New Jersey.
On their self-titled fourth album from 1996, their second on Atlantic, Jawbox amp up the melody, without losing the indie-rock delirium and chaos and off-kilter time signatures that made the DC four-piece one of Dischord's most popular bands. While a few of the tracks, like the stoic ballad "Iodine" and the absorbing, cyclical "Excandescent," flirt with pop radio catchiness, between the intricate songcraft, J. Robbins and Bill Barbot's nearly preternatural vocal and guitar interplay, Kim Coletta's insistent bass work, and Zach Barocas's frenetically spectacular percussion, Jawbox remain astoundingly immune to any sellout tag. JAWBOX is simply a superior swan song (as it would prove their final studio record) by a complex band who upped the ante on every album. And watch out for the bonus track, "Cornflake Girl," hidden five minutes into final track, a jagged reimagining of Tori Amos's hit.


1 - Mirrorful
2 - Livid
3 - Iodine
4 - His Only Trade
5 - Chinese Fork Tie
6 - Won't Come Off
7 - Excandescent
8 - Spoiler
9 - Desert Sea
10 - Empire of One
11 - Mule/Stall
12 - Nickel Nickel Millionaire
13 - Capillary Life
14 - Absenter