Skip to product information
1 of 1

McCoy Tyner



UPC: 602577573903

Format: LP

Regular price $33.95
Regular price Sale price $33.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); Art Davis (bass); Elvin Jones (drums).
Producer: Bob Thiele.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on January 10-11, 1962. Originally released as Impulse (39). Includes liner notes by Nat Hentoff.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (MCA Music Media Studios).
The aptly titled INCEPTION is the astounding session that introduces great pianist McCoy Tyner as a leader. After a successful tenure with Benny Golson and Art Farmer's Jazztet and at the beginning of his membership in John Coltrane's quartet, Tyner was primed for what would become a lengthy series of stunning recordings under his own name. Though only in his mid-'20s, Tyner plays with a power and confidence that bespeaks his musical maturity. Completing the trio is the mighty bassist Art Davis and the uncanny drumming powerhouse known as Elvin Jones, Tyner's bandmate from the Coltrane group.
From the opening title track, the trio plays with a forceful drive, propelled by Jones' strong polyrhythmic drumming and Tyner's muscular technique. Only two standards were recorded for the session-the swinging "There Is No Greater Love" and "Speak Low," which is given a fiery reading to close the set. Tyner's original works are the main focus, however, and the jaunty "Blues For Gwen" and the delightful "Sunset" are both highlights. In all, this session is a true classic in the piano trio format and a particularly special recording of one of the instrument's most celebrated masters.


1 - Inception
2 - There Is No Greater Love
3 - Blues for Gwen
4 - Sunset
5 - Effendi
6 - Speak Low