Skip to product information
1 of 1

Belle and Sebastian

If You're Feeling Sinister

If You're Feeling Sinister

UPC: 744861029687

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Belle And Sebastian includes: Stevie Thomas Jackson (vocals, guitar); Christopher Thomas Geddes (piano); Richard (drums); Isobel, Sarah Martin, Stuart David, Stuart Murdoch.
There's nobody named Belle or Sebastian in this Scottish septet, but that's just part of the self-effacing mythology with which the band has surrounded itself. Their low profile in the media and even on their own albums (no personnel or songwriting credits) is in keeping with the shy-boy aesthetic promulgated on this, their debut album. While the influence of lovable British wimps like Nick Drake, The Smiths and Al Stewart (!) and fellow Scot Donovan can be heard throughout, the band has an identity and highly developed sense of songcraft all its own.
Led by Stuart Murdoch, Belle and Sebastian offer up a largely acoustic folk-pop sound with deep roots in the '60s. Their guitar-and-piano arrangements are often filled out by luxurious trumpets and strings, but the clever, sardonic lyrics keep things from ever getting too mushy. The bright, irresistible pop melodies stand in sharp contrast to decidedly downbeat lyrics that recall Morrissey at his sharpest. Timeless, gorgeous and just cool enough to avoid a mainstream breakthrough.


1 - Stars of Track and Field
2 - Seeing Other People
3 - Me and the Major
4 - Like Dylan in the Movies
5 - Fox in the Snow
6 - Get Me Away From Here, I'm Dying
7 - If You're Feeling Sinister
8 - Mayfly
9 - Boy Done Wrong Again
10 - Judy and the Dream of Horses