Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Pogues

If I Should Fall from Grace with God

If I Should Fall from Grace with God

UPC: 825646255887

Format: LP

Regular price $29.95
Regular price Sale price $29.95
Sale Sold out

This item is in stock and will ship the next business day.

View full details
The Pogues: Shane MacGowan (vocals, guitar); Philip Chevron (guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Jem Finer (banjo, mandola, saxophone); Terry Woods (guitar, mandola, tenor banjo, dulcimer, cittern, concertina); Spider Stacy (tin whistle, background vocals); James Fearnley (piano, accordion, mandola, dulcimer, percussion, cello); Darryl Hunt (bass, percussion, background vocals); Andrew Ranken (drums, percussion, harmonica, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Kirsty MacColl (vocals); Ron Kavana (mandolin, tenor banjo, spoons, background vocals); Siobhan Sheahan (harp); Brian Clarke (alto saxophone); Joe Cashman (tenor saxophone); Eli Thompson, Chris Lee (trumpet); Paul Taylor (trombone); Fran Byrne (bodhran); Brian Sheridan, John Lawler, Joe Cashman, Paul Verner, Steve Lillywhite, Frank Murray, Paul Scully (background vocals).
Engineers: Chris Dickie, Roy Spong, Nick Lacey.
IF I SHOULD FALL FROM GRACE WITH GOD marked an apex for the Pogues--with producer Steve Lillywhite at the helm, their neo-traditional Irish songcraft was given a particularly timeless touch without compromising any of the band's trademark intensity. Adding yet another wrinkle of the Irish experience to his profound, intense lyrical oeuvre, Shane MacGowan touches on the Irish in New York, occasionally conjuring up reminders of George M. Cohan (who even gets name-checked here, on "Thousands Are Sailing"). "Metropolis" is a jazzy, brass-fueled instrumental, while the over-the-top sentimentality and swirling strings of "Fairy Tale of New York" made it an instant Christmas classic.
From the irreverent bravado of the opening title track straight through to the jokey, fatalistic closer, "Worms," IF I SHOULD FALL is a rollicking, sometimes brutally honest document, driven hard by the band's inspiringly tight, masterful playing and propelled by the raspy vocal and compelling lyrical attack of MacGowan. "Bottle Of Smoke" is a breakneck thrill ride about a celebratory victory at the horse races, while "Streets Of Sorrow/Birmingham Six" finds Shane in a rare moment of political rant.


1 - If I Should Fall from Grace with God
2 - Turkish Song of the Damned
3 - Bottle of Smoke
4 - Fairytale of New York
5 - Metropolis
6 - Thousands Are Sailing
7 - Fiesta
8 - Medley
9 - Streets of Sorrow/Birmingham Six
10 - Lullaby of London
11 - Sit Down by the Fire
12 - Broad Majestic Shannon
13 - Worms