Skip to product information
1 of 1

Modest Mouse

Good News for People Who Love Bad News [180 Gram Vinyl]

Good News for People Who Love Bad News [180 Gram Vinyl]

UPC: 696998712515

Format: LP

Regular price $37.95
Regular price Sale price $37.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 9 business days after order placement.

View full details
Modest Mouse: Isaac Brock, Eric Judy, Dann Gallucci, Benjamin Weikel.
Additional personnel: Tom Peloso, The Flaming Lips, The Rising Star Fife And Drum Band, The Dirty Dozen Band.
Recorded at Sweet Tea, Oxford, Mississippi.
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band offers the opening fanfare for Modest Mouse's sixth full-length, GOOD NEWS FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE BAD NEWS, a fitting intro for the outfit's most majestic record to date. On their prior major-label recordings, the (formerly) indie icons opted for wandering, spacey arrangements to accompany Isaac Brock's magnificently obtuse poetics. GOOD NEWS revives the immediacy of the band's earlier releases, but furthers the production values (without too much polish), and out pours some of the most commanding pop-rock imaginable.
The first single off of GOOD NEWS was the wonderfully catchy "Float On," with its syncopated, disco-like beat and Zen simplicity exemplified in the opening line "I backed my car into a cop car the other day. Well, he just drove off. Sometimes life's okay." Brock's trademark wistful vocals rest on the music as well as they ever have, equally at home on the serenely beautiful "The World at Large" and the choleric, Pixies-esque "Bury Me with It." The album closes fittingly with a visit from alt-rock royalty, as the Flaming Lips drop by on the sublimely sweet "The Good Times Are Killing Me."


1 - Horn Introduction
2 - World at Large
3 - Float On
4 - Ocean Breathes Salty
5 - Dig Your Grave
6 - Bury Me With It
7 - Dance Hall
8 - Bukowski
9 - Devil's Workday
10 - View
11 - Satin in a Coffin
12 - Interlude (Milo)
13 - Blame It on the Tetons
14 - Black Cadillacs
15 - One Chance
16 - Good Times Are Killing Me