Skip to product information
1 of 1

George Thorogood/George Thorogood & the Destroyers

George Thorogood & the Destroyers

George Thorogood & the Destroyers

UPC: 011661917613

Format: LP

Regular price $32.95
Regular price Sale price $32.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.
Personnel: George Thorogood (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Billy Blough (bass); Jeff Simon (drums); Uncle Meat Pennington (tambourine, maracas).
Recorded at Dimension Sound Studios, Boston, Massachussets.
It's easy enough to trace the lineage of every one of the ten cuts on George Thorogood & the Destroyers' self-titled 1977 debut. Even the originals, of which there are only two, wear their influences on their sleeve, so there's not a minute of this album where the presence of Hound Dog Taylor, Elmore James, Bo Diddley, and John Lee Hooker loom large. Not one of those bluesmen ever played with much finesse, and Thorogood picked up that thread and ran with it, playing so hard the group seemed like a gang of primitives. No wonder they chose the name "the Destroyers": they ruined everything in their path. This brutal attack is one reason George Thorogood & the Destroyers feels distinctive, even when the lifted Elmore riffs, Bo Diddley beats, and wild, careening Houserocker rhythms are blatantly obvious: as he hammers away at his guitar, Thorogood plays with personality, his enthusiasm for making noise readily apparent. No matter how hard the Destroyers ride "One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer," this album isn't about groove and it's certainly not about virtuosity -- it's about bashing out the blues at a punishing volume, and their lack of subtlety is why this 1977 debut still sounds powerful years after its release. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - You Got To Lose
2 - Madison Blues
3 - One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
4 - Kind Hearted Woman
5 - Can't Stop Lovin'
6 - Ride On Josephine
7 - Homesick Boy
8 - John Hardy
9 - I'll Change My Style
10 - Delaware Slide