Skip to product information
1 of 1


Future Crayon

Future Crayon

UPC: 801061814618

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $32.95
Regular price Sale price $32.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
THE FUTURE CRAYON is a compilation of B-sides and rarities from Birmingham duo Broadcast. The disc includes both instrumental tracks and songs featuring Trish Keenan's gorgeous, liquid vocals, which perfectly reference a dream version of 1960s pop.
Keenan's bandmate James Cargill provides plenty of room for the lush vocal tracks, especially on numbers like "Where Youth And Laughter Go" and "Distant Call." And while the instrumental numbers are unique and well executed, incorporating big beats and noirish movie soundtrack elements as well as pop and dance sounds, the standout tracks are without a doubt those that feature Keenan. "Illumination" finds her in a lilting sing-song over a steadily pulsing bass line. On "Small Song IV," her voice is intriguingly tiny behind stuttering synth noise. And on "Poem Of Dead Song" she sings slow and icy over a reverb-drenched vamp. This collection is a must-have for Broadcast fans, and for novices it's a good introduction to the band's music.


Disc 1:
1 - Illumination
2 - Still Feels Like Tears
3 - Small Song IV
4 - Where Youth and Laughter Go
5 - One Hour Empire
6 - Distant Call
7 - Poem of Dead Song
8 - Hammer Without a Master
9 - Locusts
10 - Chord Simple
Disc 2:
1 - Dave's Dream
2 - DDL
3 - Test Area
4 - Unchanging Window/Chord Simple
5 - Man for Atlantis
6 - Minus Two
7 - Violent Playground
8 - Belly Dance