Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Meters

Fire on the Bayou

Fire on the Bayou

UPC: 081227955939

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
The Meters: Leo Nocentelli (guitar); Arthur Neville (keyboards); George Porter, Jr. (bass); Joseph Modeliste (drums); Cyril Neville (congas).
Producers: Allen Toussaint, Marshall Sehorn.
Recorded at Sea Saint Recording Studio, New Orleans, Louisiana. Originally released on Reprise (2228). Includes liner notes by Bunny Matthews.
The Meters released FIRE ON THE BAYOU shortly before embarking on the Rolling Stones' 1975 tour as an opening act. Essentially a love letter to the band's New Orleans hometown, the album also heralded the arrival of fifth member Cyril Neville, younger brother of keyboardist Art. His additional vocals added a soulful edge to songs such as the brassy "Out In the Country" and the crackling "Talkin' Bout New Orleans." Other numbers honoring the Big Easy include the choppily funky title track, a peppy cover of Jody Levens' "Mardi Gras Mambo," and the rollicking "They All Ask'd for You," a novelty song based on an old New Orleans lullaby.
Elsewhere, The Meters travel down some interesting creative avenues, notably in the cool ambiance of "Middle of the Road," an instrumental honoring guitarist Leo Nocentelli's jazz heroes, and a rhythmically rich cover of Argent's "Liar." Much of FIRE ON THE BAYOU is defined by all five members randomly slipping in and out of the rhythm, resulting in laid-back funk such as "Love Slip Upon Ya" and "Can You Do Without?" Less than two years after this seminal album, the Meters broke up; the Neville Brothers emerged from their ashes.


1 - Out In The Country
2 - Fire On The Bayou
3 - Love Slip Upon Ya
4 - Talkin' 'bout New Orleans
5 - They All Ask'd For You
6 - Can You Do Without?
7 - Liar
8 - You're A Friend Of Mine
9 - Middle Of The Road
10 - Running Fast
11 - Mardi Gras Mambo