Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Bluetones (England)

Expecting to Fly

Expecting to Fly

UPC: 5014797904712

Format: LP

Regular price $31.95
Regular price Sale price $31.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
The Bluetones: Mark Morriss (vocals); Adam Devlin (6- & 12-string guitars); Scott Morriss (bass, vocals); Eds Chesters (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Caroline Lavelle (cello); Dan Crompton (harmonica); Mac Felton (Clavinet).
If anything, the Bluetones' debut album, Expecting to Fly, is too accomplished. Like their idols, the Stone Roses, the band has made a first album that is assured, low-key, and subtly charming. Unlike the Roses, they haven't made a consistently engaging album, but that isn't a major flaw, given the abundant hooks and melodies on Expecting to Fly. Lacking the dance inclinations of the Stone Roses, the band instead concentrates on perfectly crafted guitar pop songs, occasionally stretching out into long jams, like the opening "Talking to Clarry," which is too close to "Breaking into Heaven" for comfort. Nevertheless, when the Bluetones kick into a small, hook-laden song like the chiming, infectious "Bluetonic," they are at their peak. Most of the album has gems like "Bluetonic," whether it's the wonderful "Slight Return" or the liquid riffs of "Things Change," but the record could have used more sonic variety. Where their pre-album singles had several lovely acoustic numbers, there is an over-reliance on loud, fuzzy -- but certainly not heavy -- guitars that give the album an unfortunate sameness. However, that feeling begins to fade away as each of the song's melodies comes into focus with repeated listens. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - Talking To Clarry
2 - Bluetonic
3 - Cut Some Rug
4 - Things Change
5 - Fountainhead
6 - Carnt Be Trusted
7 - Slight Return
8 - Putting Out Fires
9 - Vampire
10 - Parting Gesture
11 - Time & Again