Skip to product information
1 of 1

Nickel Creek

Dotted Line [LP]

Dotted Line [LP]

UPC: 075597955989

Format: LP

Regular price $34.95
Regular price Sale price $34.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
A Nickel Creek reunion was perhaps inevitable. Neither Sara Watkins nor Sean Watkins ceased performing together during their seven-year hiatus and while Chris Thile saw some success with the Punch Brothers, the pull of a 25th anniversary reunion was too strong to resist. To accompany a 2014 tour, the trio recorded the new album A Dotted Line, a record that adhered to the group's traditions so much they wound up whittling away most of their progressive leanings. Nickel Creek still has an ear for interesting covers -- here, they pick Mother Mother's "Hayloft" and Sam Phillips' "Where Is Love Now" -- but the instrumentation on this brief ten-song collection focuses on guitar, mandolin, and fiddle. It's a far cry from the eclectic, electric adventures on Sara Watkins' solo records but the music feels alive and nimble and the originals -- which are primarily group collaborations, although Thile wrote the instrumental "Elsie" and Sean wrote the plaintive "21st of May" -- are uniformly solid. If there isn't much spark, there is a surplus of warmth; the trio is comfortable and relaxed, and it's hard not to succumb to such friendly, familiar vibes. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - Rest of My Life
2 - Destination
3 - Elsie
4 - Christmas Eve
5 - Hayloft
6 - 21st of May
7 - Love of Mine
8 - Elephant in the Corn
9 - You Don't Know What's Going On
10 - Where Is Love Now