Skip to product information
1 of 1

Charlie Parker (Sax)

Bird on 52nd St.

Bird on 52nd St.

UPC: 025218611411

Format: LP

Regular price $29.95
Regular price Sale price $29.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 2 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel includes: Charlie Parker (alto saxophone); Miles Davis (trumpet); Duke Jordan (piano); Tommy Potter (bass); Max Roach (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York in 1948.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1994, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Like most of the bootleg recordings of Charlie Parker, made by audience members on primitive equipment, the sound quality of BIRD ON 52ND ST. is poor. Nevertheless, despite surface noise and an imbalanced "mix" (Duke Jordan's piano and Miles Davis' trumpet can hardly be heard), there are some outstanding examples of Parker's art. At the time of this recording Parker had just returned from recuperating in a mental hospital in California and was, surprisingly, playing better than ever.
Here, on tracks like "The Way You Look Tonight," "Hot House" and "Dizzy Atmosphere," Parker's soulful, dazzlingly mercurial lines animate the space they occupy like strings of fire. Especially prominent is the dialogue Parker establishes with drummer Max Roach, the two of them seeking out the hidden rhythms of each song--horn, snare and cymbal creating new shifting structures inside the standard 4/4 time signature. Sound quality issues aside, BIRD ON 52ND ST. is essential for collectors and a fine example of Bird's conceptual and technical fluency on stage.


1 - 52nd Street Theme
2 - Shaw 'Nuff
3 - Out of Nowhere
4 - Hot House
5 - This Time the Dream's on Me
6 - Night in Tunisia
7 - My Old Flame
8 - 52nd Street Theme
9 - Way You Look Tonight
10 - Out of Nowhere
11 - Chasin' the Bird
12 - This Time the Dream's on Me
13 - Dizzy Atmosphere
14 - How High the Moon
15 - 52nd Street Theme