Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Animals

Best of the Animals [LP]

Best of the Animals [LP]

UPC: 018771432418

Format: LP

Regular price $36.95
Regular price Sale price $36.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
The Animals: Eric Victor Burdon (vocals); Alan Price (guitar, piano, organ, vibes, bass); Hilton Stuart Patterson Valentine (guitar); Bryan James "Chas" Chandler (bass); John Steel (drums).
There had been so many compilations of the Animals' hits by 2000, between England and America and the various labels that had owned the rights to their catalog, that this single-CD, 20-song collection mostly passed listeners by without much notice. But it is worth owning, and not just for the generally good sound -- there are lots of excellent-sounding CDs on the Animals' work out there. The appeal lies in the programming, which is confined primarily to the group's Mickie Most-produced EMI catalog -- the only exceptions are the Tom Wilson-produced "Don't Bring Me Down" and "Inside-Looking Out" that close the CD). But included here, apparently for the first time on a hits compilation, is the seven-minute uncut "Talkin' 'Bout You," an epic performance that rates alongside he band's best released work of the '60s, which first surfaced on the 1990 double-CD Complete Animals. Its presence elevates this collection above most of the competing hits assemblies devoted to this band. ~ Bruce Eder


1 - House of the Rising Sun
2 - I'm Crying
3 - Baby Let Me Take You Home
4 - Around and Around
5 - Talkin' Bout You
6 - Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
7 - Boom Boom
8 - Dimples
9 - We Gotta Get Out of This Place (UK Version)
10 - I'm in Love Again
11 - Bury My Body
12 - Gonna Send You Back to Walker
13 - Story of Bo Diddley
14 - It's My Life
15 - Bring It on Home to Me