Skip to product information
1 of 1

Dodgy (Britpop)

What Are We Fighting For [LP]

What Are We Fighting For [LP]

UPC: 5013929168916

Format: LP

Regular price $32.95
Regular price Sale price $32.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 2 and 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
The second album Dodgy released after reuniting in 2008, 2016's What Are We Fighting For may not be as defiant or despairing as the title suggests, yet it definitely shows a sense of assurance that befits a band settling into its skin. Dodgy don't expand their horizons -- most of the jangle and roar heard here could've been originally essayed in the '90s -- but they're digging deeper, spending more time on their songcraft along with the production. Substituting abandon for polish does mean this isn't as kinetic as their earliest hits but it's also good that they're not striving for a false sense of youth. Now firmly in middle age, they're reflective craftsman, capable of sly allusions -- the Luther Perkins single-note riffs on the intro of "Mended Heart" are a neat way to expand the scope of a popular song -- while also angling toward epics like the concluding title track. If everything feels a little bit on an even keel, blame it on that sense of craft as well: they're good enough to be clever and also good enough to wander into the middlebrow without intending to do so. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - You Give Drugs a Bad Name
2 - Now Means Nothing
3 - California Gold
4 - Are You the One
5 - Is This Goodbye
6 - Hills
7 - Never Stop
8 - Mended Heart
9 - Where I Shall Begin
10 - What Are We Fighting For