Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tim Buckley

Dream Belongs to Me: Rarities & Unreleased 1968-1973

Dream Belongs to Me: Rarities & Unreleased 1968-1973

UPC: 848064010463

Format: LP (2 disc)

Regular price $45.95
Regular price Sale price $45.95
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship 3 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel includes: Tim Buckley (vocals, 12-string acoustic guitar); Lee Underwood, Joe Falsia (guitar); David Friedman (vibraphone); John Miller (acoustic bass); Bernie Mysior (bass); Buddy Helm (drums); Carter C.C. Collins (congas, bells).
Compilation producers: K. Lee Hammond, Randy Bookasta.
Recorded at Mayfair Studios, New York, New York on March 4 & 5, 1968 and Sunset Studios, Hollywood, California on February 12, 1973. Includes liner notes by Randy Bookasta.
Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch (Digiprep).
Fanatical followers of folk-rock troubadour Tim Buckley have seen half of these tracks before on the internet-only limited edition disc WORKS IN PROGRESS, which collected some thrilling and illuminating studio outtakes from 1968, a vital point in the creation of Buckley's artful folk/rock/jazz amalgam. For the rest of the world, these tracks will serve as a reminder that the mercurial Buckley's artistry was constantly in flux; one day's embryonic fragment would be part of tomorrow's complex song suite, full of ghostly/angelic singing and underlined by Lee Underwood's warm, jazz-schooled guitar work.
The second half of THE DREAM BELONGS TO ME consists of raw, unadorned demos of songs from Buckley's '73 release SEFRONIA. While that album has been much maligned for its commercial pop-soul slickness, the rough versions here are considerably more listenable; grittier and more soulful sans the glossy overdubs. While neither the '68 sessions nor the '73 demos are recommended to non-fans, their pairing on this disc creates an interesting and unique juxtaposition between Buckley's early, stellar flights of fancy and the more pragmatic, earthbound end of his career.


Disc 1:
1 - Song to the Siren
2 - Sing a Song for You
3 - Ashbury Park
4 - Danang
5 - Happy Time
6 - Buzzin’ Fly
Disc 2:
1 - Sefronia
2 - Because of You
3 - Dream Belongs to Me
4 - Falling Timber
5 - Stone in Love
6 - Freeway Dixiel and Rocketship Blues
7 - Honey Man
8 - Quicksand