Skip to product information
1 of 1

Gregory Isaacs

Best of Gregory Isaacs: One Man Against the World

Best of Gregory Isaacs: One Man Against the World

UPC: 054645147613

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel includes: Gregory Isaacs.
Producers: Gregory Isaacs, Alvin Ranglin, Tappa Zukie, Augustus "Gussie" Clarke.
Compilation producers: David Sanguinetti, Joel Chin, Vincent Edwards, Lloyd Campbell.
Any summary of Gregory Isaacs' recording career should emphasize his lovers rock sound without ignoring his prominent catalog highlights. This approach is undertaken by VP Records on their excellent One Man Against the World compilation. Isaacs' playful depictions of lovers' roles is well-represented by "Top Ten," "Private Secretary," and "Night Nurse," while his earlier love themes and stories are featured on seven more tracks, such as the fabulous "Tumblin' Tears" with its thumping rockers-style drum beat. The remainder of the collection emphasizes other threads in the story. "Border" and "Storm" showcase his approach to roots music; "Rumours," which ushered in a new dancehall era, underscores his dancefloor awareness; "Hard Drugs" takes on a topic that hounded him in the media; and the title track offers a bouncy, late-period summary of the Isaacs persona. While other compilations have successfully showcased his work in one era or for one label only, this collection offers a succinct overview of the continuity and the contrasts that make up the entire Gregory Isaacs story. ~ John Gonsalves


1 - Private Secretary
2 - Front Door
3 - Soon Forward
4 - Mr. Brown
5 - Tumblin' Tears
6 - Tune In
7 - My Number 1
8 - Night Nurse
9 - One Man Against the World
10 - Border
11 - Rumours
12 - Hard Drugs
13 - Love Is Overdue
14 - Storm
15 - Top Ten