Skip to product information
1 of 1


Inner Secrets

Inner Secrets

UPC: 829421356004

Format: LP

Regular price $44.95
Regular price Sale price $44.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Santana: Devadip Carlos Santana (guitar); Greg Walker (vocals); Chris Solberg (guitar, organ); Chris Rhyne (keyboards, synthesizers); David Margen (bass); Graham Lear (drums); Armando Peraza (bongos, percussion); Raul Rekow (congas, percussion); Pete Escovedo (timbales, percussion).
Recorded at Western Recorders, Los Angeles, California in July & August 1978.
On the heels of FESTIVAL came the disco-soul-pop-spiced INNER SECRETS, with a whole new Santana lineup. Greg Walker is the main man at the microphone this time around on these upbeat, radio-friendly cuts. While the band's personnel and sound are consistently in a state of flux and evolution, two constants in Santana are the presence of positive messages and, of course, founding guitar hero Carlos Santana--albeit the focus of this particular recording is much less on his playing and more on the overall production.
"Move On" stomps along with a thumping rock pulse, funky clavinet, and harmonized verses that quote the illustrious Sly Stone with the always-encouraging line, "You Can Make It if You Try." "One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)" bounces along in similar fashion, with an uplifting, soulful delivery by Walker and a cowbell-lined guitar riff that inspires rump shaking or perhaps...aerobics. There are some tasty cover tunes, too, ranging from the vivid '70s pop gem "Stormy" to a smooth-grooving version of Traffic's piquant anthem of the neighborhood narco-badman, "Dealer."


1 - Dealer/Spanish Rose
2 - Move On
3 - One Chain (Don't Make No Prison)
4 - Stormy
5 - Well All Right
6 - Open Invitation
7 - Life is a Lady/Holiday
8 - Facts of Love
9 - Wham!