Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Wind and the Wave

From the Wreckage [LP]

From the Wreckage [LP]

UPC: 888430695610

Format: LP

Regular price $30.95
Regular price Sale price $30.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
The Wind and the Wave, the Austin, Texas-based folk, country, and pop duo of Dwight Baker and Patricia Lynn (she's the wind and he's the wave, according to press releases), will undoubtedly be marketed as a country act, but as From the Wreckage, the duo's debut album, shows, this is Austin country rather than Nashville country, and it drifts closer to a rootsy kind of Americana folk-rock. Produced by Baker in his own Matchbox Studios, From the Wreckage has a bright, sharp sound full of big atmospheric drums and indie guitar riffs, and it's all topped off by Lynn's feisty vocals. For the most part, the songs steer clear of country clichés, even as they mine the same territory for relationships, betrayal, and the hope of weekend redemption. The opener, the wonderful "My Mama Said Be Careful Where You Lay Your Head," starts things off with a quick, sharp shuffle, full of wisdom and a kind of determined resignation, and sets the tone for the rest of the album, which also includes the duo's first single, "With Your Two Hands," the gentle ballad "Every Other Sunday Morning," and the escaping-from-work anthem "Raising Hands Raising Hell Raise 'Em High," all of which bring tight songwriting, sparse but appropriate arrangements, and a sprightly freshness to the table. Call it Texas country with a dash of indie folk. The bottom line is that it works very well, no matter what the duo's sound ultimately gets branded. ~ Steve Leggett


1 - My Mama Said Be Careful Where You Lay Your Head
2 - From the Wreckage Build a Home
3 - With Your Two Hands
4 - It's a Longer Road to California Than I Thought
5 - Loyal Friend and Thoughtful Lover
6 - Every Other Sunday Morning
7 - Raising Hands Raising Hell Raise 'Em High
8 - When That Fever Takes a Hold on You
9 - Heart It Beats the Thunder Rolls
10 - Husband and a Wife Should Sleep Together
11 - This House Is a Hotel