Skip to product information
1 of 1

Melanie Martinez

Cry Baby

Cry Baby

UPC: 075678668890

Format: LP

Regular price $33.95
Regular price Sale price $33.95
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Building upon the conceptual ideas of her 2014 EP, Dollhouse, Melanie Martinez's 2015 full-length debut, Cry Baby, finds her taking the innocent imagery of youth and family ("Carousel," "Training Wheels," "Milk and Cookies") and subverting them into angular R&B and electro-infused anthems of familial strife, abuse, and romance gone wrong. An arty, self-assured singer with a style that falls somewhere between Beyoncé and Björk, Martinez first came to the public's attention singing Britney Spears' "Toxic" as a contestant on the third season of NBC's The Voice. Perhaps not surprisingly, then, her songs also fit nicely next to the work of contemporaries like Lorde and Lana Del Rey. As with Dollhouse, aiding Martinez on Cry Baby are a handful of hip-hop and pop-steeped producers including Kinetics & One Love (B.o.B, Pitbull, Neon Hitch), SmarterChild (Krewella, Usher, Tori Kelly), and Frequency (Eminem, Royce da 5'9", Slaughterhouse). Featured on Cry Baby are the singles "Sippy Cup," "Soap," and "Pity Party." ~ Matt Collar


1 - Cry Baby
2 - Dollhouse
3 - Sippy Cup
4 - Carousel
5 - Alphabet Boy
6 - Soap
7 - Training Wheels
8 - Pity Party
9 - Tag, You're It
10 - Milk and Cookies
11 - Pacify Her
12 - Mrs. Potato Head
13 - Mad Hatter
14 - Play Date
15 - Teddy Bear
16 - Cake